Railroad Tracks

How should I act in that reality?

Living in my reality of being different meant that I had to accept that I would never be truly accepted by everyone. I was lucky to find friends and have a family that accepted me for who I was. However, acting in that reality I was faced, unfortunately, with the facts that not everyone was going to accept me. I decided that I would never act like it bothered me. In one occasion growing up I was teased for wanting to read a book during recess instead of joining in with all of the other kids on the playground. A group of kids came over and teased me for being different and not interacting with everyone else. I never gave them the satisfaction of knowing that their taunts hurt me, and then learned to act in my reality that it didn’t affect me.

