2) Name one instruction you derived from the readings and comment on how you applied it to the project.

The instruction that benefited me the most was from Zinsser. Zinsser instructed us to think about the entire memory, then focus on the details and emotions and record them so that you can later go back and reflect.

This instruction was particularly useful to me because I was having trouble portraying the emotion that I was feeling for my memories to those that are reading my memories. I had a friend read my first draft of one of my memories and she told me it was okay, but that she didn’t really feel anything coming from the memory. No pain, gratitude, or joy from it means that no emotion is being correctly portrayed to my readers.

This allowed me to stop and to re-read my memories and focusing on the different things that are portrayed.

